Things to Check Before Hiring a Public Adjuster in Miami
- April 22, 2022
As a homeowner in Miami, it is necessary to have insurance coverage. The city is prone to weather-related damages like hurricanes, tornadoes, and flooding. It is one of the cities that are at risk of storm surges. Water leaks, mold formation, and fire damages are other reasons behind damage in the city. Soon after the damage, you must file a claim with your insurer. However, suppose they refuse to entertain it, delay it for any reason, or offer you an inadequate settlement. In that case, you should not lose any time in contacting licensed public adjusters Miami. These professionals will help you file the claim correctly, negotiate with the insurance company and ensure you receive a justified payout. What are some things you should check before hiring them? Read on to know more.
Are they licensed?
Before you hire a public adjuster, you must check if they are licensed. The Department of Financial Services authorizes all claim agents in Miami and Florida. Before qualifying as an adjuster, they must clear an examination, post a surety bond, and submit fingerprints. A licensed claims agent will provide factual, authentic, and complete information to the company. According to Chapter 817 of the Florida Statutes (applicable to Miami), making fraudulent, misleading, and incorrect information is punishable.
What services do they provide?
Adjusters might vary in the claims services they provide. Since Miami is highly vulnerable to weather-related damages like hurricanes, floods, and tornadoes, you must ask them if their services extend to these areas. You might also consider asking them if they cover property damages like a roof leak, water, mold, and fire damage. Most homes in Miami have mold formations because of the damp air that causes high humidity. It would help if an adjuster included these damage claims in their claims.
How much do they charge?
Most public adjusters in Miami work on a contingency fee basis. You pay them only when you receive a satisfactory settlement amount. However, the exact fee might vary from one claims agent to another. The Florida laws put a cap on the total fees adjusters can demand, restricting them between 10% and 20%. It is advisable to inquire about the fees of the claims agent before proceeding.
When should you call them?
Some people call a claims agent after they file a claim and face issues with their insurer regarding the settlement process. As per the Homeowners Claims Bill of Rights, applicable in Miami and Florida, your insurer must reply to a claim within 14 days after receiving it and 30 days after a second written request. However, most adjusters are unanimous in their opinion that you should call them immediately after damage. That would help them inspect and assess the damage, prepare an inspection report, and include every minor detail the insurer could look for during the claims process. You could also call them after you have received a settlement but are not satisfied with the amount.
What do their clients say?
You could get an idea of the agent’s efficiency by browsing their website and seeing what other clients think about them. You should hire an experienced adjuster since they would know the correct procedure for filing the claims form, documenting the damages, and negotiating with the insurer.
You will find these questions helpful while looking to hire public adjusters in Miami. They will provide you with every assistance and guidance related to insurance claims and ensure you are satisfied with the settlement amount.