Extreme E’s first race closes with a limited quantity of drama

Extreme E’s first race closes with a limited quantity of drama

The first-ever Extreme E race has reached a conclusion. Rosberg X Racing’s Johan Kristofferson and Molly Taylor have won the Desert X Prix in AlUla, Saudi Arabia in the wake of battling off the two different teams that made it to the final, second-place Andretti United and the Lewis Hamilton-backed X44.

There was a modest amount of drama included — the Rosberg group confronted a minute-long penalty for speeding in the driver switch zone, and the fan-based grid selection put Andretti United in a superior beginning position.

Different teams had a lot of issues before the finals, including crashes for Abt Cupra and Veloce Racing during the qualifiers.

You’ll need to wait a while for the next race. The Ocean X Prix is because of occurring in Senegal’s Lac Rose on May 29th and May 30th.

Extreme E’s effective first competition is a major lift to the series after delays and cancelled races lost its schedule. It’s additionally a significant achievement for off-road EV racing. While electric off-roaders have raced previously, they haven’t had a dedicated league with big-name teams and drivers (like X44’s Sebastien Loeb) previously.

The greatest challenge currently may be to keep up that momentum — like Formula E in its initial days, Extreme E actually needs to demonstrate that it can keep watchers returning.